• Check the latest Canon rebates here

Confusion: another store is getting ready to sell Sony a800

An online store (link is now broken) in Andora has listed the Sony α800 on their website:

A800 Confusion: another store is getting ready to sell Sony a800

Specs:

  • 15.2MP CMOS Exmor R sensor
  • CF/memory stick
  • ISO 100-12,800
  • 6.5 fps
  • Integrated Wi-Fi

Source

Related posts:

  1. Sony A800 anyone?
  2. Sony mirrorless camera
  3. Sony will have a photography related press conference on September 23rd
  4. Complete list of Sony products to be announced
  5. Next Sony DSLR: with the new Exmor R CMOS Sensor?

This entry was posted in Sony and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

10 Comments

  1. NikoDoby
    Posted August 15, 2009 at 3:34 pm | Permalink

    It says it has built-in WiFi, very cool if true. That would be a first on a DSLR wouldn’t?

  2. Anonymous
    Posted August 15, 2009 at 3:39 pm | Permalink

    it sdounds realistic, for Sony to try Exmor first on a crop sensor

    also, the information seems more realistic too

  3. Yay !
    Posted August 15, 2009 at 5:23 pm | Permalink

    Cool ! It has a nice body design unlike the A380, A330, and A230 ! It kind of looks like a A200 !

    I like the specs ! Thanks Photo Rumors !

    I hope this is real !

  4. Rebel
    Posted August 15, 2009 at 5:23 pm | Permalink

    A800: http://www.menfis-and.com/electronica/fotodigital/sony/sony.htm

    an old topic from http://photofan.jp/camera/html/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?topic_id=5890&forum=11&post_id=53007#forumpost53007
    A800:
    -15.2Mpx APS-C CMOS Exmor “R” sensor
    -ISO 100-12.800
    -6.5 frame per second
    -New high speed flash sync
    -9 double cross f/2.8 AF sensor (23 total AF sensor)
    -New metering and AF sensor with tracking and previous focus
    -Dual AF Ultr-Speed motor ??
    -Wi-Fi built-in

  5. jbl
    Posted August 15, 2009 at 8:16 pm | Permalink

    Does that mean Sony won’t go into the video business? Considering their experience with video (just like Canon) I thought they would jump on the occasion with the refresh of a possible a700 coming (I mean, it’s about time)

    Also, do you think that the a850 would replace the a700 line (by this I mean, no more crop sensor, semi-professional body)

    Since the a900, Sony is getting more and more interesting. I hope they enter the video DSLR world as well because people are gonna want that.

  6. T3
    Posted August 15, 2009 at 9:33 pm | Permalink

    That a800 is fake…

  7. dyna
    Posted August 16, 2009 at 11:43 am | Permalink

    There won’t be video in any Sony DSLRs this year. Sony have made that pretty clear. It’s not that Sony would wish to jump on the bandwagon. Not in the slightest. They don’t do bandwagons. Especially with Sony being the number one video manufacturer of the past 25 years, they won’t allow their name to go anywhere near a DSLR implementation that’s considered merely adequate, like the 5DMkII. The 5D’s got some very, very nice static video but don’t move the camera, don’t allow the subject to move, don’t autofocus… and don’t go beyond your 12 minutes.

    Sony will not allow HD video to appear on an SLR until it is a fully useable and fairly complete option that isn’t so damn hard on the system (people keep burning out their D90s, as a good example). They have a name and a reputation in video that they wish to see upheld. They’re not concerned in the slightest with DSLR video eating into their camcorder sales. One only needs to compare the versatility of the upcoming CX500V/CX520V vs. the 5DMkII and you’ll see why… but they’re going to want people to have a reason to buy in beyond what is currently more of a glamour add than anything else.

    No video in 2009… but 2010 :) should be most interesting.

  8. Sky
    Posted August 17, 2009 at 8:47 am | Permalink

    lol, they used fake photo! Blahahaha

  9. knut
    Posted August 17, 2009 at 10:15 am | Permalink

    It is not a real online store. The website does not have an order function. Its just a website where some shop owner collects all sorts of technical descriptions and pictures of stuff to promote his small offline shop. Looks like he just accidentally copied the rumor.

  10. waboo
    Posted August 18, 2009 at 8:10 am | Permalink

    Not 4 real.