Camera Grand Prix 2020 awards are out (by the Camera Journal Press Club)

The 2020 Camera Grand Prix awards by the Camera Journal Press Club are out:

Camera of The Year: Camera Grand Prix 2020 Camera of the Year is to be awarded to “α7R IV”, produced by Sony corporation.

Lens of The Year: Camera Grand Prix 2020 Lens of the Year is to be awarded to “FE 200-600mm F5.6-6.3 G OSS”, produced by Sony corporation.

Readers Award: Camera Grand Prix 2020 Readers Award is to be given to “α7R IV”, produced by Sony corporation.

Editors Award: Camera Grand Prix 2020 Editors Award is to be given to “EOS-1D X Mark III” produced by Canon Inc., “NIKKOR Z 58mm f/0.95 S Noct” produced by Nikon Corporation and “GFX100” produced by FUJIFILM Corporation.

Camera Grand Prix is held by Camera Journal Press Club (CJPC, Japan), a group of representatives from magazines or websites specializing in photos and cameras. CJPC, established in September 1963, has 10 members from the media as of May 2020. The selection committee, organized under CJPC’s Camera Grand Prix Executive Committee, deliberates and selects the best products for the four awards among those introduced into the market during the previous fiscal year (i.e. from April 1, 2019 to March 31, 2020 for Camera Grand Prix 2020.)

Camera Grand Prix “Camera of the Year” is granted to a still camera recognized as the best of all released during the period. “Lens of the Year” is awarded to the best lens launched in the Japanese market, while “Readers Award” is determined by general camera users’ vote on a dedicated website. (The voting period this time was from March 16 to April 12, 2020.) In addition, CJPC members give “Editors Award” to a camera or another form of photography-related product, excluding the ones awarded “Camera of the Year” and “Lens of the Year”, in consideration for the product’s popularity, topicality, and innovativeness.

The selection committee is comprised of CJPC members, chief editors (or other representatives) of CJPC member publications, external members entrusted by the Camera Grand Prix Executive Committee, and other special members such as academic experts, technical writers, professional photographers, and representatives from photo-related organizations, in addition to TIPA, the Technical Image Press Association, an association of photo- or image-related magazines, which now has 28 member organizations and photo journalist clubs from 16 countries mainly in Europe. In total, 54 people were involved in the selection process this year.

The reasons for choices stated here were composed by the Camera Grand Prix Executive Committee, based on the selection committee members’ opinions.


Get 15% off Topaz Labs products with code RUMORS15
Get $10 off Skylum Luminar with code NIKONRUMORS
Get 20% off ON1 software with code NIKONRUMORS
Get 35% off Franzis products with code NIKONRUMORS-35
Get 40% off Rocky Nook books with code NIKONRUMORS
This entry was posted in Other and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Trackbacks are closed, but you can post a comment.
  • FCC disclosure statement: this post may contain affiliate links or promotions that do not cost readers anything but help keep this website alive. As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases. When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network. Thanks for your support!

  • Back to top